include some assembler

  • 1
  • 2
  • Page 2 of 2
Droopy
Benutzer
Avatar
Gender:
Age: 58
Posts: 24
Registered: 01 / 2016
Subject:

Re: include some assembler

 · 
Posted: 07.03.2017 - 00:34  ·  #9
Thnx Thomas and Rolf, I managed to come to a result.
I did found the site with instructions explanation and changed the code to something fitting my program.
I needed some changes because I can't send out the whole screen at once because there are also the line numbers to send out ;)
By learning some assembler with this example, the simulator was a big help (y)

The result to communicate two lines is:
- normal code takes about 85 µSec
- code optimized takes about 58µSec
- assembler code takes about 26µSec (but with the disadvantage that you need to be carefull what you do with tasks, processes and irq's)

Thanks for helping (y)
Thomas.AC
Benutzer
Avatar
Gender: n/a
Age: 43
Posts: 308
Registered: 07 / 2013
Subject:

Re: include some assembler

 · 
Posted: 07.03.2017 - 09:10  ·  #10
Problems in a multithreading environment always exist, regardless of the programming language. In fact, there is more control with assembly.

If you need more performance, you have to try DMA and Timer peripheral.
(Or EBI? But Xmega256A3 does not support the external bus interface.)

A timer generating the clock signal could trigger DMA.
In this case, there is no cpu load while writing a line to RGB-LED matrix.
  • 1
  • 2
  • Page 2 of 2
Selected quotes for multi-quoting:   0

Registered users in this topic

Currently no registered users in this section

The statistic shows who was online during the last 5 minutes. Updated every 90 seconds.
MySQL Queries: 15 · Cache Hits: 14   51   65 · Page-Gen-Time: 0.042353s · Memory Usage: 2 MB · GZIP: on · Viewport: SMXL-HiDPI