Subject:

Selecting a Microchip

· 
Posted: 28.10.2012 - 21:59  ·  #1
Hello Everyone

I am new in microchip programing line.
I need to design a micro controller card

-Cards will have relays on it.
-There will be many cards that they all will be connected each other serialy or paralel.
-Everycard will have its own id code or IP number or similar to be identified by PC.
-All cards will be register by computer from 1 to N
-Computer will have to know which card will have the intruction at a time.
-Computer will open some relays on several cards at a time by intructions one by one.

This mean
for example computer will send an intruction from USB( serial port ) such as 02X04 mean card number 02 will be activated and relay number 04 will open. Next instruction will be 23X06 mean is card number 23 will activate and relay number 6 will open and so on..... All relays on different cards will stay open certain of time till job is completed.

Cards will disasembly from their connection line after job is done then they will be reconnected for new job. Therefor cards will mixedup at reconnection and computer will register them again from 1 to N. Because card place is on cableline is important for job.

Now I need help to select a right atmel microchip which I can use in this type of cards and of course cost is very important. Once right microchip has been selected then I will focus on programming

Thanks for anyone
Mr Crusty

Subject:

Re: Selecting a Microchip

· 
Posted: 29.10.2012 - 12:30  ·  #2
Hi Jeosist,

"Now I need help to select a right Atmel microchip which I can use in this type of cards and of course cost is very important. Once right microchip has been selected then I will focus on programming "

I think the first thing you will have to decide is what communication protocol you intend to use with each card. The communication protocol decided upon will then, to a certain extent, decide upon the chip you will use.